Health and Beauty

Colorful Summer Makeup

Happy Thursday!

Thank you guys so much for checking in to read today’s post! I saw a wonderful tutorial from Kathleen Lights on YouTube recently, and I fell in love with the look she created. I did create a more subdued version that I am a little more comfortable sporting, but I’m here to share it with you today!

IMG_2100

I do apologize for the messy hair and snapchat filter, but it’s the end of the day and the lighting was weird… What can you really do about it? Today’s focus will definitely be on the eyes, so I’m going to skip the face makeup for today. Let me know in the comments if you’re interested in a glowy summer makeup look!

First I started by priming my eyes. I used Urban Decay Primer Potion, but seriously anything works (even concealer). Next I just kind of threw my bronzer in the crease lightly to give the tiniest bit of depth. Today I used Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer. No need for dramatic shadow on the lid; the liner is definitely the star of the show.

Next I did a bold wing with this eyeliner from NYX in the shade vivid sapphire. After the wing I just popped on some mascara and moved on to the lower lash line. I started by adding the ColourPop Creme Gel Liner in Fast Lane to the waterline. Next you’ll basically want to repeat the same steps with each color, gradually moving further away from the lower lash line while blending all the shades to create a nice gradient.

IMG_2102
Shadows from left to right: MUG Shimma Shimma, Morphe Rosewood, Morphe Life in the City, Morphe Sea Thru My Eyes

The shadow I placed closest to my lower lash line (seriously this one was almost on my waterline) is the Morphe single shadow in Life in the City. Using a flat liner brush, I simply pushed this into my lower lash line as close as possible without it actually making it into the waterline. I then blended another Morphe single shadow in Sea Thru My Eyes right under Life in the City, blending the edges of the two together. Finally, I took Morphe single shadow in the shade Rosewood (apparently this shade has been discontinued as I could no longer find it on the Morphe website; a similar shade would be the Coastal Scents Hot Pot in shade Cinnabar Rose) and again blended that into the other colors, slightly below Sea Thru My Eyes. To finish the look off, I highlighted my browbone and inner corner with Makeup Geek’s single shadow in Shimma Shimma.

I added a simple peachy gloss (NYX Butter Gloss – Peach Crisp )to my lips to keep the focus on the eyes, and that’s all! This look was super simple, super fun, and helped me step out of my very neutral comfort zone!

Much love,

MJ 🖤

 

One thought on “Colorful Summer Makeup

Leave a Reply

