Health and Beauty

Becoming Cruelty Free: How I’m Getting Started

So I recently made the decision to become cruelty free, and in the post where I discussed this decision, I did say that I would not be throwing away perfectly good products just because they test on animals.

I’ve already paid for that product, and me throwing them away does nothing to benefit me or show these companies what I, as a consumer, want to support. I plan to try to use up those products, and I hope to find cruelty free alternatives along the way. In an effort to consistently focus on trying to use these products up, I want to choose certain products Β to use for a month at a time. As I use these products, I will try to find a cruelty free option to replace it with and suggest to you guys!

I thought this would be a helpful way to show you guys cruelty free options to some favorite products and work on clearing out the products I have that do test on animals!

So the products for this month are:

  1. MAC Fix+

I bought into the hype of this product that every YouTube personality told me I needed. It’s okay. It’s not great. To be perfectly honest, I don’t reach for it much already. However, in the spirit of smarter consumerism and getting the most for my money (I think this stuff is 20 something dollars a bottle), I will use it up. I’ll be looking for an alternative product along the way.

2. MAC Limited Edition Shadow Palette

I honestly am not sure how old this thing is, but it’s actually not that bad. I remember asking my mom for this for Christmas when I was in high school, so it’s gotta be on the older side of things. I want to use this up (partly because I’m just so close already), but also because the shadow quality wasn’t really all that bad. To be honest, even after I use this up, I’ll probably hold onto it because it holds some sentimental value. It’s a 6-pan eyeshadow palette that has (or rather used to have) a good mix of shades and finishes. I really liked this for travel back in the day, so I’ll be looking for a good alternative to recommend to you guys so you don’t have any excuses to buy any more cutesie limited edition palettes from MAC.

3. MAC In The Meadow Mineralize Eye Shadow

This was a total impulse buy, but I still want to put it to use. I don’t think I’ve ever actually used it (so I definitely don’t anticipate using it up within the month), but I want to try to incorporate it into some looks this month. I already have some ideas of cruelty free alternatives, but I’ll share those with you when I come back in a month to check back in.

IMG_2088

4. Maybelline Fit Me pressed powder

I won’t lie. This has been a favorite since high school, so it’s going to be really hard to replace this. I’ve tried other powders and none even hold a candle to this one. I’m close to hitting pan on this, so I need to find a new powder ASAP, so rest assured I’ll have a new recommendation for you buy the end of the month – or I’ll be in tears.

IMG_2093

5. Sephora Collection 10 Hour Wear Perfection Foundation

I picked this up because I heard some good reviews about it, and it did turn out to be a good foundation that I actually really enjoy. I’ll be on the hunt for its replacement this month. It’s a medium coverage buildable foundation. It doesn’t break me out, and it doesn’t dry my skin out. It doesn’t look or feel heavy on the skin, so it may be difficult to replace. Nonetheless, I’ll be watching out for an animal friendly favorite instead.

IMG_2091

6. Benefit Roller Lash

I got this in a set of sample size Benefit mascaras, and I really liked it at first. The more I use it, the more I realize that it doesn’t seem to do anything. If I do come across something I find to be similar, then I’ll recommend it, but I just don’t really love this mascara (definitely isn’t worth full price).

IMG_2094

7. Simple Nourishing 24 Hour Day/Night Cream & Micellar Cleansing Water

I really have enjoyed the Simple skin care line in recent years because it’s affordable, good for sensitive skin, and super accessible. It’s worked relatively well for me, but these products are not cruelty free. I’ve already got some ideas of some stuff to try out this month to replace these bad boys, so stay tuned for an update.

img_2084.jpg

So that’s all for this month! It’s a total of 8 products since I lumped the two skincare products together, and I hope to really make some progress on using these babies up this month. Make sure you check back in a few weeks from now to see how well I’ve done finding replacements for these products!

Much love,

MJ πŸ–€

13 thoughts on “Becoming Cruelty Free: How I’m Getting Started

    1. Thank you so much for reading! I’m so glad to hear you’re going cruelty free too, and I definitely agree that it’s way easier than expected. As far as Simple’s animal testing policy, I’ll include the link to Unilever’s FAQ page, which includes information on their animal testing policy. I do apologize for the lengthy response in advance…

      Simple is a Unilever brand, so the animal testing policy of Unilever will be the same policy Simple uses unless stated otherwise (which it has not, when looking on the Simple website the policy on animal testing is identical to the page on the Unilever website). Essentially, Unilever does test their products on animals where required by law (China), and their policy also states that when there are no non-animal alternatives to testing their products they still test on animals. When you read the actual policy on their page, it really seems a little bit unclear. It can be up to you personally (I feel like there are a lot of gray areas when it comes to cruelty free), but as far as I’m concerned, I think the policy is pretty clear that they do still test on animals, therefore I won’t be continuing to buy the brand.

      https://www.unileverusa.com/faqs.html

      I hope this link is helpful, and I hope I’ve provided some information that’s helpful to you in your switch to cruelty free! Please feel free to ask more questions and let me know about products you think I should try! πŸ–€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I understand that finding affordable cruelty free skincare can be a little more challenging, but I think you’ll be able to find products you love that are animal friendly! Good luck in all your cruelty free adventures! πŸ–€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

