Health and Beauty

Five Dollar Fri-YAY 🖤

Happy Friday y’all!

I first started getting into makeup when I was in middle school. I remember searching YouTube for a video that would teach me how to French braid, and then there was a multitude of suggested videos related to hair, makeup , and all things shimmery and girly. I fell down a rabbit hole and haven’t turned back since. Even though I never learned how to French braid, I learned more about makeup than any 11 year old girl could possibly need to know.

I had no money because, well, I was 11. So I asked my parents for the latest and greatest makeup for every single birthday and Christmas, and I’m almost certain my mother was sick of it by the time I was in high school. Fast forward to college where I still have an obnoxious amount of makeup, and I spend more of my hard earned cash on makeup than I care to admit.

That being said, I’m a sucker for a good bargain. Sometimes I can definitely have a hard time justifying the price tag on a lot of high end and luxury products beauty bloggers swear by. Of course, as illogical as it is, the more ridiculous the price tag, the more I seem to want it. For example, if someone handed me a Natasha Denona eyeshadow palette tomorrow I’d pretty much marry them. At the same time (and maybe I’m just less likely to be disappointed when I paid $5 versus when I’ve paid $50), I find that when I finally do splurge on a pricier item, I more often feel let down by that product. I’ll discuss some disappointing products in a different post on a different day because today is about an affordable product that’s worth a trip to your local drugstore!

This may be an every Friday kind of post or just a post that randomly surfaces when I’m in a thrifty mood, but anyway… WELCOME TO $5 Fri-YAY!

Today’s spotlight product is the Wet n’ Wild MegaLast Liquid Catsuit Matte Lipstick. Liquid lipsticks are super trendy, and to be honest I have a love-hate relationship with them. There isn’t a formula out there that’s truly comfortable, and most of the time they’re more trouble than they’re worth. On top of that, when liquid lipsticks were first starting to become popular, there were really no good drugstore options, so you basically had to fork out $20 for every lipstick. Now there’s at least one liquid lipstick formula from almost every brand it seems.

This particular formula is only $5, but WOW. They aren’t sticky at all, and they truly do last all day. They are all the things a good liquid lipstick should be: pigmented, long-lasting, transfer proof. They are a little bit drying, but honestly at this point who still expects any liquid lipstick to be anything BUT drying? They come in so many colors, and they’re available in drugstores all around the U.S. (which means you might be able to catch them on sale).

That’s today’s recommendation (peep me wearing shade Give Me Mocha), so hit up your local Walgreen’s and don’t feel the slightest bit guilty about it!

IMG_0582.PNG

Much love,

MJ 🖤

One thought on “Five Dollar Fri-YAY 🖤

Leave a Reply

